In order to decide who would become the members of the '97 Special Team, three polls were conducted by the video game journals Famitsu, Gamest, and Neo Geo Freak, in which readers voted who was the Fatal Fury characters they wanted to see in the team.
• Neo Geo Freak's winner was Billy Kane
• Famitsu's winner was Ryuji Yamazaki
• Gamest's winner was Blue Mary, barely beating Duck King via a few mere votes.
Contributed by DrakeVagabond